2019-20 Kamloops Blazers Awards

Watch more on Blazers TV >

2019-20 Kamloops Blazers Award Winners

Kamloops, BC – The Kamloops Blazers have announced their 2019-20 season award winners.

MJB Law Most Improved Player – Orrin Centazzo

Orrin saw all his offensive numbers have a significant improvement as he set career highs in goals (44), assists (37) and points (81). His 44 goals are the most by a Kamloops Blazer since Erik Christensen had 54 goals during the 2002-03 WHL season.

Diamond in the Rough – Caedan Bankier

Caedan quietly had seven goals, 13 assists and 20 points as a 16-year-old rookie in the WHL. His numbers were 11th among all 16-year-olds as he was a consistent threat in the Kamloops Blazers lineup.

Eldon Dever Tophy as Best Defenseman – Max Martin.  

Max led all Blazers defenders in scoring with 14 goals, 44 assists and 58 points in 61 games. He finished 5th overall among all WHL defenseman in scoring.

Doris Rubel Award as Most Dedicated Player – Logan Stankoven

The Kamloops kid had a stellar season on the ice, but also has a tremendous work ethic off the ice. Logan is known to hone his skills and continuously working on improving his shot. He is consistently one of the last players to leave the rink as he is a high dedication to the game.

Blazers Booster Club Award for Community Involvement – Montana Onyebuchi

Montana has a willingness to help in the community and be a role model for younger kids. He is naturally gifted at making people feel welcome and is always up to doing extra when it comes to putting a smile on a kids face.

Bob Winters Memorial Trophy as Grinder of the Year – Brodi Stuart / Montana Onyebuchi

Both of these players’ contributions don’t always show up on the scoresheet. Brodi is known as an all-purpose forward who can play any position and in any situation. Montana is regarded as one of the premier shutdown defenseman with his steady, physical play.

George Stewart Sr. Award with Excellence in Hockey/Education – Dylan Garand

With a 95% average in school, Dylan has won the Hockey/Education award for the second straight season. His on ice dedication is evident, but he continues to excel in the classroom and is a role model at school.

Andy & Molly Clovechok Award as Rookie of the Year – Logan Stankoven

The 16-year-old led all WHL rookies in goals with 29 this season. He tied a franchise record set by Rob Brown in 1984-85 as the most goals by a 16-year-old. His 48 points was 6th among all WHL rookies and 3rd among all 16-year-olds in the WHL.

Rick Anderson Memorial Trophy as Unsung Hero – Brodi Stuart / Ryan Hughes

In his third season with the Blazers, Brodi Stuart continues to impact the game in all types of ways. He is a dependable player that flies under the radar, but a key player to the overall success of the hockey club. Ryan Hughes put up tremendous numbers this year with 69 points in only 56 games. He was a key offensive contributor for the Blazers.

Top Prospects Award – Connor Zary

The projected first round NHL pick had a fantastic season with 38 goals, 48 assists and 86 points in 57 games. Zary was named to Team WHL for the CHL Super Series, he was also invited to Canada’s World Junior Selection Camp and participated in the CHL Top Prospects Game. If he is selected in the first round of the NHL Draft, he would become the first Blazer to go in the first round since Keaton Ellerby in 2007.

Dean Evason Award for Inspirational Leadership and Ability – Zane Franklin

The Blazers captain led in all ways on and off the ice. He set the tone game in and game out with a goal, a hit, a blocked shot or a fight. Whatever was needed by the hockey club, Franklin would be there to lead the charge.

Kamloops This Week Award for Best Plus/Minus (+/-) – Zane Franklin

Franklin edged out fellow linemate Connor Zary finishing with a +31 on the season in 63 games. Zary finished at +30 with teammates Max Martin, Orrin Centazzo, Logan Stankoven, Quinn Schmiemann, Montana Onyebuchi, Sean Strange and Inaki Baragano all finishing +25 or higher.

Vern Seaman Top Scorer Award – Zane Franklin

For the second straight season, Zane Franklin led the Blazers in points. The 20-year-old had a career high 91 points with 29 goals and 62 assists. Franklin finished second in the WHL in assists. He also had the most points by a Blazers forward since Cole Ully had 94 points during the 2014-15 season.

Radio NL Three Stars Award – Zane Franklin

In a close race, Franklin was named a star in 15 games this season including the first star on five different occasions. He edged out linemates Orrin Centazzo and Connor Zary who were named stars in 14 games each. All 23 roster players were named a star in at least one game this season.

CH Day Memorial Trophy as MVP – Zane Franklin / Dylan Garand

Captain Zane Franklin was a key contributer for the Blazers in all areas. He led the team in scoring and also led the team on and off the ice. Dylan Garand set a franchise record with a 2.21 goals against average as he surpassed the previous record set by Kenric Exner who had a 2.31 goals against average during the 1998-99 season. Garand finished in the Top 3 in the WHL in wins, goals against average, and save percentage.


More News
4 hours ago
Ronald McDonald House 50/50 Winner
2 weeks ago
Western Hockey League commits to season for WHL players
2 weeks ago
2 weeks ago
Blazers forward Connor Zary signs ELC with Calgary Flames
3 weeks ago
Loewen Co-Authors Children’s Book
4 weeks ago